The Ateneo Institute of Literary Arts and Practices (AILAP) has released the names of fellows who made it to the 7th Ateneo National Writers Workshop (ANWW) to be held this 22-27, October 2007 in Sacred Heart Novitiate in Quezon City. The twelve (12) fellows are: Ernanie Francisco Rafael (Manila), Sonny Corpuz Sendon (Iriga City), and Enrique Sia Villasis (Masbate City) for Filipino Poetry; Joy Anne Icayan (Kawit, Cavite), Camille May Ocumen (Taytay, Rizal) and Miguel Antonio Lizada (Davao City) for English Poetry; Mary Anne Claire Umali (Marikina), Joanna Rose Laddaran (San Fernando City), and Anna Levita Macapugay (Malolos, Bulacan) for Filipino Fiction; Catherine Flores Alpay (Angeles City), Andrew Robles (Marikina) and Katherine Gae Yamar (Paniqui, Tarlac) for English Fiction.

Writers who will critique their works in the week-long workshop include a healthy mix of established and young writers: Dean Alfar, Marjorie Evasco, Mookie Katigbak, Susan Lara, Allan Popa, Jun Cruz Reyes, Benilda Santos, Luna Sicat, Angelo Suarez, Joel Toledo, Roland Tolentino, Kimie Tuvera and Larry Ypil. AILAP-affiliated writers like Michael Coroza, Marco Lopez, Jema Pamintuan, Edgar Samar and Alvin Yapan round up the list of panelists this year. Edgar Samar is the Workshop Coordinator and Glenda Oris, Yol Jamendang and Jelson Capilos of the Ateneo Filipino Department are the Workshop Associates.

The National Commission on Culture and the Arts (NCCA) is once again a sponsor this year and supportive of the AILAP’s goal of establishing the ANWW as the premier workshop for beginning writers.

For queries regarding the workshop, you can write or call Mr. Marco Lopez, Acting Director of AILAP at mvlopez@ateneo.edu and 4266001 local 5320/5321.