S.E.A. Write Awards

The Filipino Department and the Ateneo Institute of Literary Arts andPractices (AILAP) of the School of Humanities, Loyola Schools, congratulate Mr. Michael M. Coroza for being the recipient of the S.E.A. Write Award (Southeast Asian Writers Award) given by the Royal Family of Thailand.

The S.E.A. Award is given annually to a writer from each of the ASEAN countries. Mr. Coroza is the Philippine awardee for 2007 and he now joins an elite group of Filipino writers who have received the award since its inception in 1979. Some previous awardees include Nick Joaquin, Gregorio Brillantes, Edilberto Tiempo, Bienvenido Santos, and Virgilio Almario.

The awarding ceremonies will be held in Oriental Bangkok this October 12,2007.

Marco A. V. Lopez
Acting Director