LS Awards for the Arts Call for Nominees

4 December 2007

To: All Department Chairs/Program Directors, Students, and Faculty of the
Schools of Humanities, Science and Engineering, and Social Sciences,
and the John Gokongwei School of Management

From: Dr. Benilda S. Santos
Acting Dean, School of Humanities

Subject: Call for Nominees: Loyola Schools Awards for the Arts 2008

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

The Loyola Schools' Awards for the Arts (LSAA), formerly called the Dean's Awards for the Arts, are presented each year to seniors of theLoyola Schools who have done outstanding work in the arts.

The Awards recognize the students' artistry as expressed in the styleand vision of outputs and achievements in the following categories:creative writing (poetry, fiction, literary essay, and playwriting),theatre arts, screen arts, visual arts (painting, photography, graphicdesign, and illustration), music and dance.

An LSAA Committee composed of faculty members of the Loyola Schools will evaluate the entries and determine awardees for each category. Nominations in the different artistic categories are now beingaccepted by the Committee. To be eligible, a nominee must be a studentof the Loyola Schools in his or her senior or fifth year. Nomination letters addressed to the Committee may be sent to the School ofHumanities Dean's Office or e-mailed to this

Eligible nominees are required to submit the following documents tothe School of Humanities Dean's Office, ground floor, Horacio de laCosta Hall:
1. A portfolio representing a body of works done over the last four years
2. An updated resume
3. A duly accomplished personal data sheet to be obtained from the SOHDean's Office, and submitted to the same office. The data sheet canalso be downloaded from the Ateneo de Manila University website atthis URL:

The deadline for submission of portfolios, data sheets and nominationletters is on Monday, 21 January 2008, at 5:00 p.m. (Only Ateneofaculty members and/or students may nominate candidates for theAwards.) This deadline is final. The announcement of awardees willbe made on Tuesday, 26 February 2008. The awardees will receive a plaque during a ceremony on Wednesday, 12 March 2008.

Thank you very much.

Connie C. Camacho
Assistant to the Dean
School of Humanities
Ext. 5301