2007 Cardinal Sin Catholic Book Awards

2007 Cardinal Sin Catholic Book Awards

The Asian Catholic Publishers, Inc. (ACPI), founded by Jaime Cardinal Sin, organized the Catholic Authors’ Awards to recognize lifetime achievement of Catholic authors in the Philippines . Past awardees included Rev. Msgr. Sabino A. Vengco, Jr., Liwayway A. Arceo, Rev. Fr. Horacio Luis de la Costa, S.J., Hon. Raul Manglapus, Atty. Francisco “Soc” Rodrigo, Mr. Paul Dumol, Rev. Fr. Tamerlane R. Lana, O.P., Mr. Manuel “Noli” I. Yamsuan, Jr. and Rev. Fr. Luis Antonio G. Tagle. No award has been given since 2000 and ACPI was dormant for some time, owing to the illness and death of Cardinal Sin.

Reorganized in 2006 as the Asian Catholic Communicators, Inc. (ACCI), the association has revived the awards, renamed the Cardinal Sin Catholic Book Awards. To the Lifetime Achievement Award has been added some categories in Catholic literature, and the Emerging Author Award.

General Objective:
The Cardinal Sin Catholic Book Awards recognize authors/publishers whose work promote total human development, Gospel values, and Filipino culture, through the effective use of the latest communications technology in book publishing.

Core Values:
1. Love of God: respect for God and the order of creation as the integral base of any human project
2. Love for Humanity: upholding human life and dignity, justice and freedom, family and community as necessary elements of any social agenda
3. Love for Creation: appreciation, proper use, preservation and conservation of natural resources as a basic human responsibility, especially in the pursuit of economic progress
4. Love of Country: patriotism, nation-building, solidarity with all Filipinos
5. Love for the Poor: option for the marginalized and the voiceless such as women, children, victims of injustice and violence, the economically disadvantaged

Spirituality and Ministry
Books that serve and deepen the devotional and prayer life of Christians, including works on prayer, homiletics, creation and ecology, the saints, etc.

Theology and Liturgy
Books that aid study of and reflection on Catholic Christian faith and worship, including works in Scripture, Patristics, Christology, the Creed, Sacraments, worship ministries, etc.

Family Life, Youth, and Children
Books that respond to the different members of the domestic church, including stories for children, faith and morals for youth, family relationships, etc.

Special Categories:
Emerging Author
Awarded to a Catholic writer who is publishing a book for the first time on any topic that falls under the award categories, and demonstrates a fresh approach to the chosen field.

Lifetime Achievement (taken from original description of Catholic Authors Awards)
Awarded to a Catholic writer whose lifework represents a continuing contribution to the propagation of the Christian faith through the print media, in recognition of exemplary Catholic life and apostolic zeal as reflected in the Christian values and ideals contained in his/her writings.


Who can nominate?
Entries may be submitted by any person or organization wishing to direct the attention of the ACCI to a noteworthy book. A person or organization may submit more than one entry in each category.

Nomination Process
1. Fill up entry form. (Please refer to attachment in the email)
2. Prepare three copies of each title.
3. Prepare entry fee of Php1,000.00 per title, payable to Asian Catholic Communicators, Inc.
4. Submit entries at:
Asian Catholic Communicators, Inc.
c/o Jesuit Communications Foundation, Inc.
Sonolux Building , Ateneo de Manila University
Loyola Heights , Quezon City 1108
Tel. 426-5971
Fax 426-5970

Period Covered
For the 2007 awards, entries must have been published between January 2006 and June 2007.

A book may not be nominated again.

Deadline of submissions is on July 15, 2007.For inquiries, please contact the following:
Dit Sablan at 426-5971 loc 112 or e-mail esablan@admu.edu.ph
Sr. Maimai Rubia, fsp at 833-2972 or e-mail shalimarfsp@paulines.ph